Routes

Planner

Features

Updates

App

Login or Signup

Get the App

Login or Signup

Routes
Hiking trails & Routes
Upper Palatinate
Cham
Waldmünchen

Ruins of the Old School – Former Grafenried Cemetery loop from Lučina

Routes
Hiking trails & Routes
Upper Palatinate
Cham
Waldmünchen

Ruins of the Old School – Former Grafenried Cemetery loop from Lučina

Moderate

4.6

(43)

92

hikers

Ruins of the Old School – Former Grafenried Cemetery loop from Lučina

02:19

8.13km

180m

Hiking

Moderate hike. Good fitness required. Easily-accessible paths. Suitable for all skill levels. The starting point of the route is right next to a parking lot.

Last updated: August 9, 2026

Tips

Your route passes through protected areas

Please check local regulations for:

Naturpark Oberer Bayerischer Wald

CHKO Český les

Waypoints

A

Start point

Parking

Get Directions

1

34 m

Untergrafenried hiking border crossing

Highlight • Trail

From the Untergrafenried border crossing, historic paths lead directly into the former, abandoned Czech village of Grafenried (Lučina). These are cross-border tours with the character of witnessing history.

Showing Translation

Tip by

2

524 m

A sign with the warning "Please do not leave the signposted paths!" marks the entrance to the sunken village of Grafenried (Lučina). Only a few ruins have survived. Archaeological excavations still take place occasionally.

Showing Translation

Tip by

3

788 m

Ruins of the Former Village Inn

Highlight • Historical Site

The stately property was once part of the castle's economy as a manor inn. Later, it also served as accommodation for the workers of the nearby brewery. In 1946, Josef Zangl and his wife Elsa lived in this house with their sons Heinrich and Horst, as well as Elsa's unmarried sister Barbara and her widowed mother Rosalia. The house was not demolished after the expulsion, but was used by Czechoslovak border guards as accommodation with a kitchen and dining room until the border troops' headquarters were relocated to Wassersuppen (Nemanice) in 1964.

Showing Translation

Tip by

4

856 m

Ruins of the Old School

Highlight • Historical Site

From 1874, several rooms of the former castle (presumably built around 1580 by Georg Pelkhofer von Mosweng) were used as a three-class elementary school by Grafenried. These are the remains of the once stately building, which also housed the municipal office and a savings and loan association. In addition, there were four apartments for the teachers' families.

Showing Translation

Tip by

5

994 m

The former Grafenried (Czech: Lučina) stood on a small hill near the German border (today the Untergrafenried border crossing) west of Nemanice. Grafenried also included the villages of Anger (Upor), Seeg (Pila), and Haselbach (Liskova). Around 800 people lived there. After the end of the Second World War, the German population was expelled from the border area, and the village, with all its buildings, was gradually razed. The Grafenried church of St. George still stood until the 1970s. Although it had the status of a monument, it was blown up and demolished. On the initiative of a former German resident of the community and some historians on the Czech side, the remains of the church were partially excavated and renovated in 2011. The search for traces was extended to the entire lost village and its districts.

Showing Translation

Tip by

6

1.02 km

The atrocities of the past are forgiven. Today, Czechs and Germans, as depicted on the poster at the "Place of Reconciliation", shake hands over the ruins of the lost villages. Together, they explore their history and discover how closely the fates of Bohemia and Germans were intertwined over many centuries.

Showing Translation

Tip by

7

1.19 km

Former Grafenried Cemetery

Highlight • Historical Site

A place of memories of the past. Cold war, then many places on the Czech border were simply razed to the ground.

Translated by Google •

Tip by

8

3.09 km

Ruins of Seeg (Pila) Village

Highlight • Historical Site

The also disappeared village of Seeg (Czech: Pila), which belonged to Grafenried, was located three kilometers west of Wassersuppen (Nemanice) on the road from Mauthaus to Grafenried. The first mentions of Seeg date back to 1613. The village was built on a stream that was used to operate a mill, a sawmill, and a glassworks. In 1749, there were three mills and a sawmill in the village. In addition, there was also a carpenter and a glass cutter. In 1839, the village consisted of 26 houses with 232 inhabitants.

Showing Translation

Tip by

B

8.13 km

End point

Parking

Loading

Way Types & Surfaces

Way Types

5.48 km

2.19 km

432 m

< 100 m

Surfaces

3.45 km

2.22 km

1.54 km

909 m

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Elevation

Elevation

Nothing selected – click and drag below to see the stats for a specific part of the route.

Highest point (650 m)

Lowest point (510 m)

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Weather

Powered by Foreca

Wednesday 26 August

28°C

13°C

0 %

Additional weather tips

Max wind speed: 18.0 km/h

to get more detailed weather forecasts along your route

Comments

August 12, 2023,🥾🌲🪵🌞🍄🇨🇿Grenzsteigrunde über Lucina, Upor, ehem. Glashütte Seeg🌞🪵🌲🌿🥾
A wonderful, relaxed morning tour over the Grenzsteig Höll to the Dirrmal, so the mountain bike ban until September is more bearable😏. Nice weather and absolute peace, the mushrooms are now running across your path too 😋

Showing Translation

Along the border strip, the path leads to Grafenried/Lucina on the Czech side of the border. Here remains of the buildings as well as tools and everyday objects of the former villagers can be examined. In addition, numerous information boards with pictures provide an insight into village life in the glass-making town, which fell victim to the Iron Curtain after …

Showing Translation

Today we went on a short tour to our neighbors.
From Untergranfenried we went past the vanished villages of Grafenried and Seeg into the Schwarzach valley near Nemanice.
The Schwarzach has its source a few kilometers further north at the Lysa Hora (German: Lissaberg), over which the main European watershed also runs. The Rabuza rises just a short distance from …

Showing Translation

guide_signup

Want to know more?

Sign up for a free komoot account to join the conversation.

Sign up for free

Our route recommendations are based on thousands of hikes, rides, and runs completed by other people on komoot.

Save

Edit route

Download GPX

Move start point

Print

Share

Embed on a website

Report an Issue

Report restricted access

Nearby routes

Moderate

4.8

1,089

Eixendorf lakeside path

04:01h

15.2km

130m

Explore
RoutesRoute plannerFeaturesRedeem a voucherHikesMTB TrailsRoad cycling routesBikepackingSitemap
Download the app
Follow Us on Socials

© komoot GmbH

Privacy Policy