Routes

Planner

Features

Updates

App

Login or Signup

Get the App

Login or Signup

Routes
Road cycling routes
France
Great East
Nancy
Lemainville

Velle-sur-Moselle – Lock on the Canal des Vosges loop from Lemainville

Routes
Road cycling routes
France
Great East
Nancy
Lemainville

Velle-sur-Moselle – Lock on the Canal des Vosges loop from Lemainville

Moderate

7

riders

Velle-sur-Moselle – Lock on the Canal des Vosges loop from Lemainville

02:00

45.0km

460m

Road cycling

Moderate road ride. Good fitness required. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride. The starting point of the route is right next to a parking lot.

Last updated: July 17, 2026

Waypoints

A

Start point

Parking

Get Directions

1

6.67 km

Benney and Voie Bleue

Highlight • Cycleway

2

7.24 km

Lock No. 41 of Crevéchamps

Highlight • Structure

Lock on the Canal des Vosges near Crévéchamps

canalplan.uk/place/w4v9

Translated by Google •

Tip by

3

8.10 km

Oude brug

Highlight • Other

Relatively old bridge over the Moselle.

Translated by Google •

Tip by

4

8.74 km

Velle-sur-Moselle

Highlight (Segment) • Other

5

30.6 km

Église Saint Martin

Highlight • Other

For several centuries, it was the old castle chapel that served as the parish church in Bayon. In 1865, Mgr Charles-Martial ALLEMAND-LAVIGNE, bishop of Nancy and Toul, moved by the advanced state of degradation of the chapel, which was threatening to collapse, urged the parishioners to raise a subscription for the reconstruction of a church worthy of a cantonal capital. It was not until 1879 that this subscription was set up by Abbé MICHEL, parish priest, and raised 101,022 F, distributed as follows: 76,022 F from subscriptions, 15,000 F donated by the church fabric, and 10,000 F by the Commune. The new church being estimated at 153,000 F, the difference was the subject of a subsidy request to the State and the Department. Work began in 1881. The new church was consecrated on September 24, 1884, by Mgr TURINAZ, bishop of Nancy and Toul. It is in the shape of a Latin cross and oriented to the West, opposite the previous church. In the Neo-Renaissance style, the building was designed by Mr. GIGOUT, architect, and built by Mr. JEUDY, contractor.

In 1905, 21 years after its consecration, numerous defects were noted which compromised the structural stability of the building. The diagnosis established by the expert appointed by the Commune and the Prefect noted, among other things, the fall of a complete section of cornices onto the square, where children were playing. It also noted that vegetation was taking root and dislodging the stones. The installation of scaffolding to carry out the essential repairs allowed for a deeper diagnosis and revealed the "unheard-of" defects of the building.

In October 1918, the sacristy was set on fire, as was part of the choir, where the tiling lifted in places. Cracks appeared in the transept and some plaster panels detached from the vault. In the inter-war period, the church underwent numerous repairs.

On June 20, 1940, the church was hit by shell fire. The vault over the choir and the high altar were destroyed. The central vault was damaged. The lighting and the bells were put out of order. The bell tower, particularly targeted, was heavily damaged, as were the clock and the organ. From 1948 onwards, major renovations were financed thanks to "war damages". In 1952, the church was equipped with a sound system and the stained glass windows were restored. The following year, a new altar, designed by Abbé GUÉNAIRE and built by the THOMAS company of Bayon, was installed.

In January 2012, following a negative opinion from the district safety commission, the church had to be closed to the public "as long as the stability of the bell tower was not assured". After very significant work was carried out, the building has welcomed the faithful again since May 2015.

The Saint Martin church is 44.25 meters long, 18.25 meters wide, and originally housed 520 chairs (390 today). Its height is 15 meters under the vault and 18 meters under the dome. The spire soars to a height of 54 meters.

By prefectural decree of March 28, 2012, the Saint-Martin church was entirely listed as a Historical Monument "as a representative example of Neo-Renaissance architecture in Lorraine and of the work of architect Léopold GIGOUT". It houses religious heritage which is also listed in the inventory of Historical Monuments but as "objects": a pietà and three 15th-century statues from the old church, as well as a deposition scene dating from the early 16th century and from the chapel of the Hospital.

Showing Translation

Tip by

6

32.1 km

Lock on the Canal des Vosges

Highlight • Structure

Located along 'the green cycle path' which follows the Canal des Voges and the Moselle

Translated by Google •

Tip by

B

45.0 km

End point

Parking

Loading

Way Types & Surfaces

Way Types

40.0 km

4.08 km

935 m

< 100 m

Surfaces

43.8 km

1.22 km

< 100 m

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Elevation

Elevation

Nothing selected – click and drag below to see the stats for a specific part of the route.

Highest point (330 m)

Lowest point (240 m)

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Weather

Powered by Foreca

Thursday 27 August

24°C

17°C

49 %

Additional weather tips

Max wind speed: 22.0 km/h

to get more detailed weather forecasts along your route

Comments

guide_signup

Want to know more?

Sign up for a free komoot account to join the conversation.

Sign up for free

Our route recommendations are based on thousands of hikes, rides, and runs completed by other people on komoot.

Save

Edit route

Download GPX

Move start point

Print

Share

Embed on a website

Report an Issue

Report restricted access

Nearby routes

Moderate

5.0

8

Le Château de Haroué — loop from Charmes

03:58h

86.8km

860m

Explore
RoutesRoute plannerFeaturesRedeem a voucherHikesMTB TrailsRoad cycling routesBikepackingSitemap
Download the app
Follow Us on Socials

© komoot GmbH

Privacy Policy