Routes

Planner

Features

Updates

App

Login or Signup

Get the App

Login or Signup

Routes
Road cycling routes
France
Normandy
Mortagne-Au-Perche

Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

The best traffic-free bike rides around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

4.5

(17)

405

riders

44

rides

Road cycling around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne offers a network of no traffic routes through varied terrain within the Orne department of France. The region is characterized by the extensive Forêt domaniale de Bellême, providing shaded roads and a verdant backdrop. Cyclists encounter a mix of relief, from a silicified limestone plateau in the north to open valleys of Jurassic clay in the south, with the La Calabrière river adding to the natural features. This area is known for its cycling-friendly infrastructure,…

Last updated: August 16, 2026

5.0

(1)

10

riders

#1.

Forêt Domaniale de Bellême – Saint-Ouen-de-la-Cour loop from Sérigny

18.1km

00:54

280m

280m

Easy road ride. Great for any fitness level. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride.

Navigate with device

Send to Phone

Save

Easy

Moderate road ride. Good fitness required. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride.

Moderate
guide_signup
Let us show you the way with the komoot mobile app
With a free komoot account, you can easily find, customize, and navigate endless outdoor adventures.

Sign up for free

6

riders

Easy road ride. Great for any fitness level. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride.

Easy

Moderate road ride. Good fitness required. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride.

Moderate

Moderate road ride. Good fitness required. Mostly well-paved surfaces and easy to ride.

Moderate
Sign up for free to see 40 more rides around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne.

Get access to more routes and recommendations from other explorers.

Sign up for free

Already have an account?

Our route recommendations are based on thousands of hikes, rides, and runs completed by other people on komoot.

Start today with a free account

Your next adventure awaits.

Login or Signup

Popular around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Traffic-free bike rides around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Traffic-free bike rides around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Tips from the Community

Ann Artois
June 7, 2026, La Perrière

very beautiful village with drinking and eating facilities

Translated by Google

0

0

The priory was founded at the beginning of the 11th century and is dedicated to Saint Gauburge (or Walburge), abbess of a large Bavarian monastery in the 8th century. Originally owned by the lords of Bellême, it passed, from the 12th century, to the Royal Abbey of Saint-Denis-en-France. From the end of the 15th century, it was directly dependent on royal power until the Revolution. An important rural estate, its buildings bear witness to its special status and the magnitude of its revenues. Since 1972, it has housed the headquarters of the Perche Ecomuseum, which bears witness to the peasant life of the Perche and develops a diverse cultural program.

Translated by Google

0

0

Philippe
June 15, 2025, La Perrière

A lovely artist's village not to be missed.

Translated by Google

1

0

clec
May 4, 2025, Bellême

Pretty little town with character!

Translated by Google

0

0

The nave is covered with a wooden vault with exposed beams. The archivolts of the Romanesque door are decorated with saw teeth. The west gable wall is topped with a slender bell tower. The interior contains three classical altars whose designs were apparently made by Mansard at the request of Louvois, owner of the Prairie de Marcilly.

Translated by Google

0

0

A male yew* was planted near the entrance to the church, once surrounded by the cemetery. Its double trunk supports a crown that hides part of the building. This funerary tree is the only significant plant in the crossing of the town, whose name evokes another species that has become rare: the field elm. The church is accessed through a porch (heavily restored) recalling the Romanesque origins of the building, confirmed by the narrow and high semicircular bay above it. During the Renaissance, the nave was enlarged by two chapels lit by windows with flamboyant tracery. The flat chevet was pierced by three bays in a pointed arch forming a "triplet", from the 13th century, probably walled up at the beginning of the 18th century when the high altar was installed. In the choir: high altar (early 18th century - Cl. MH) with armorial medium-relief** in terracotta, "The Transfiguration", after Raphael; gilded wooden statues of Saint Godegrand and Saint Opportune On the gable wall of the south chapel, between a corner buttress and a Gothic window, a sundial was painted in 1991, on the site of an old one. * The yew is a dioecious species: the male and female plants grow separately. Only the female flowers will give rise to the arils, a kind of fleshy bright red berry containing a single, toxic seed. ** Offered by the abbess of Saint-Julien du Pré, in Le Mans, Catherine d'Aumont, who died in 1708, whose coat of arms was: "argent with a chevron gules accompanied by seven martlets of the same, four in chief 2 and 2, three in base 1 and 2".

Translated by Google

0

0

L'église du Pin-la-Garenne, dédiée à Saint-Barthélémy est un édifice pour le moins composite. La construction de deux bas-côtés et d'un clocher, au milieu du 19e siècle, lui a conféré son aspect contemporain qui ne manque pas de surprendre, à commencer par ces multiples clochetons de pierre alignés comme un cortège de part et d'autre d'une toiture couvrant d'un seul tenant le choeur et la nef. Cet ensemble architectural a en fait connu des mutations successives. Celles-ci ont totalement occulté le sanctuaire du 11e siècle érigé à l'emplacement d'une ancienne chapelle castrale elle-même bâtie sur la basse-cour attenante à la motte du Pin. Selon des éléments fournis dans un mémoire du début du 18e siècle, ce premier lieu de culte attesté aurait été édifié à flanc de coteau autour de l'an 900 par un seigneur du Pin nommé Geoffroy de Couthril en vertu d'une permission du pape Romain 1er De l'édifice roman alors dédié à Saint-Ouen et donné pour moitié au prieuré de Saint-Martin-du-Vieux-Bellême par Gautier, seigneur du Pin, il ne subsiste que le portail d'entrée protégé pendant des siècles par un narthex détruit en 1838. Exposé dès lors aux intempéries, le portail fut victime lors d'une tentative de restauration, de rajouts qui portèrent atteinte à la pureté originelle des voussures. Du côté du choeur, des traces d'une abside romane étaient, paraît-il, encore discernables au cours du 19e siècle. Au début du 17e siècle, la nef fut reconstruite et surmontée, probablement à cette même période, par un clocher en pointe qui dominait le faîte du toit au-dessus de l'entrée principale. Le haut pignon souligné de rampants,orné d'une verrière flamboyante, est un vestige à peu près intact de cette période. Il comporte, de part et d'autre de la voûte du portail, deux pierres sculptées représentant des animaux à droite, il s'agit du lion, attribut de la famille du Grenier qui a fourni une très longue lignée de seigneurs du Pin et de la Pellonnière (du début eu 15e siècle à 1704). A gauche, l'animal semble représenter un loup. Peut-être s'agit-il de l'emblême particulier de Loup du Grenier, seigneur du Pin et de la Pellonnière devenu seigneur de Saint-André de Dolus et de Saint-Pierre en 1612, à la suite de son mariage avec Anne Martel, fille d'Anne de Pons, dame d'Oléron. Le titre de Marquis d'Oléron (titre de courtoisie) resta dès lors attachée à cette famille jusqu'à René du Grenier, petit-fils du précédent, décédé sans postérité. En ce même 17e siècle, paraît également avoir été érigée, du côté nord, la chapelle des frères de la Charité qui disposait d'une entrée particulière donnant sur le cimetière (espace formé par l'actuelle place Robert Drouin). Cette porte est encore visible lorsqu'on observe le mur extérieur du côté de la place. En 1704, la veuve de René du Grenier, Anne de Maillé, marquise d'Oléron, dame du Pin, fit don par testament de la somme de 700 livres afin de construire une contre table dans le choeur de l'église. Il s'agit du maître-autel actuel et de son retable. Une somme de 300 livres fut aussi affectée par la donatrice à la réalisation de deux petits autels latéraux. Dédiés à l'origine à la Vierge et à Sainte-Barbe,ils furent dressés en biais, à la limite du choeur et de la nef selon une disposition encore visible dans plusieurs églises du Perche (Saint-Germain-de-la-Coudre, Saint-Mard-de-Réno, Marcilly, etc..) Lors des agrandissements du 19e siècle, ces deux autels furent transférés à l'extrémité des bas-côtés où ils forment aujourd'hui les autels du Sacré-Coeur et de Saint-Joseph. En 1744, des émanations provenant du sol imposèrent l'interdiction momentanée du culte qui fut transféré à Eperrais. Les inhumations à l'intérieur de l'église devinrent dès lors plus rares jusqu'à leur interdiction pure et simple. Par la suite, on fit paver la nef et le choeur sous lequel, selon la tradition, reposent les premiers seigneurs du Pin. Au début du 19e siècle, Jean Baptiste Patu de Saint-Vincent, époux de Nicole Le Conte de Gersant, dame du Pin et de la Pellonnière, fit également construire la chapelle dite "du château", dédiée à Saint-Louis (à gauche du choeur). En 1768, la construction du grand chemin de Mortagne à Bellême amena à créer, du côté sud, un talus à forte déclivité (plus de trois mètres entre l'église et la nouvelle chaussée), ce qui semble avoir provoqué un affaiblissement de l'édifice. Au lendemain de la Révolution et de l'Empire, l'accroissement démographique fut tel (1090 habitants au Pin en 1808, 1335 en 1845) que le conseil de fabrique dut envisager des agrandissements afin d'accueillir des fidèles de plus en plus nombreux. Ces travaux furent entrepris à partir de 1826, à l'instigation de Jules Patu de Saint-Vincent, fils du précédent. La chapelle Saint-Louis ainsi que celle de la Charité furent alors intégrées dans un bas-côté nord. Afin de consolider la nef,on ajouta un bas-côté sud avec sous-sol et double perron sous lequel une élégante porte de style Louis XIII devait permettre d'accéder à une crypte. L'aménagement de cette dernière qui prévoyait un escalier d'accès direct avec le choeur de l'église, demeura inachevé. La démolition de l'ancien clocher et la construction de la nouvelle tour, flanquée latéralement toujours dans le but de renforcer la structure, furent entreprises simultanément à partir de 1838, non sans susciter de vives contestations de la part du conseil municipal. Jules Patu de Saint-Vincent imposa finalement ses vues (il est vrai qu'il finançait l'opération). Ses conceptions artistiques (certains seraient tentés de parler de "prétentions"..) mêlant curieusement romantisme et renaissance italienne, lui faisaient admirer le Dôme de Milan. C'est d'un voyage en Lombardie qu'il ramena, dit-on, l'idée d'agrémenter les toitures des bas-côtés de ces pinacles qui tentent d'élever vers le ciel une église aux apparences désormais bien éloignées de sa forme originelle. Il fit aussi édifier une vaste sacristie. Spécialiste de chant grégorien (on lui doit un livre d'initiation), il installa dans la tribune un petit orgue aujourd'hui disparu. Hors d'usage et trop détérioré pour qu'une restauration puisse être envisagée par la commune, l'instrument a en effet été vendu en 1979 à un groupe de jeunes passionnés qui est parvenu à le reconstruire et, récemment, à le remettre en service dans la tribune de l'église de La Loupe. En 1880, alors qu'était envisagée la translation du cimetière vers son site actuel, les abords du côte de la route, furent renforcés par un mur de soutènement et par deux perrons séparés par un terre-plein assurant une mise en valeur assez réussie de l'entrée principale. En 1940, la sacristie, victime d'un pillage, fut incendiée. Lors de sa démolition, on découvrit dans le chevet plat, une fenêtre romane, murée probablement lors de la mise en place du retable légué par la marquise d'Oléron. Une nouvelle sacristie de proportion plus modeste fut reconstruite au lendemain de la Libération (en 1948) grâce entre autres à des dons remis par des descendants de Robert Drouin, l'émigrant canadien du 17e siècle. Chaque époque a ainsi apporté sa contribution à l'édification de ce sanctuaire. Même si les aménagements les plus importants, réalisés pour l'essentiel à l'initiative du Jules Patu de Saint-Vincent, ont été parfois contestés, ils ont le mérite de conférer une nouvelle originalité à un lieu de prière où se sont succédées des générations d'hommes et de femmes. A ce titre, l'église du Pin-la-Garenne mérite le coup d'oeil et, intérieurement une découverte, source d'évocation d'une histoire méconnue.

0

1

ECOLR oak

Translated by Google

0

0

Frequently Asked Questions

How many no-traffic road cycling routes are available in the Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne area?

There are over 40 dedicated no-traffic road cycling routes around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne, offering a wide range of options for different skill levels. You'll find everything from easy, short loops to more challenging, longer rides.

What kind of terrain can I expect on these quiet road cycling routes?

The terrain around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne is quite varied. You'll encounter picturesque relief in the northern parts, characterized by a hard silicified limestone plateau, while the southern areas feature broadly open valleys of Jurassic clay. Many routes also traverse the serene Forêt domaniale de Bellême, providing shaded sections and a mix of gentle inclines and descents.

Are there any easy, beginner-friendly no-traffic road cycling routes?

Yes, the area offers several easy routes perfect for beginners or those seeking a relaxed ride. For example, the Forêt Domaniale de Bellême – Saint-Ouen-de-la-Cour loop from Sérigny is an easy 18 km route with manageable elevation, ideal for a pleasant outing.

What are some notable natural features or viewpoints along the no-traffic routes?

The region is rich in natural beauty. You can cycle through the vast Forêt domaniale de Bellême, where you might discover the tranquil Étang de la Herse. The area known as 'Les Batailles' is also renowned for its rich variety of wild orchids. Many routes offer scenic views over the varied landscapes of the Orne department.

Are there any circular no-traffic road cycling routes in the area?

Yes, many of the no-traffic road cycling routes around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne are designed as circular loops, allowing you to start and finish at the same point. A good example is the La Perrière loop from Bellême, which offers a pleasant 20 km ride through the countryside.

What historical landmarks or attractions can I see near these cycling routes?

Beyond the natural landscapes, you can explore charming settlements like Bellême and La Perrière, which often feature historic architecture. The Saint-Sauveur Church in Bellême is a notable point of interest. Historically, the southern part of the Bellême forest contains the 'Camp des Fourneaux,' an ancient site.

Is there a long-distance greenway or cycle path accessible from Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne?

Yes, the region is part of major cycling itineraries. The Alençon–Condé-sur-Huisne Greenway, built on a former railway line, is part of the Véloscénie, which connects Paris to Mont Saint-Michel. This greenway offers a fantastic traffic-free option for longer rides.

What do other road cyclists enjoy most about cycling in Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne?

The area is highly rated by the komoot community, with an average score of 4.7 stars. Reviewers often praise the tranquility of the routes, the beautiful forest sections, and the well-maintained, low-traffic roads that make for a truly enjoyable cycling experience.

Are there any routes that offer a more challenging experience for advanced cyclists?

For those seeking a greater challenge, routes like the Saint Martin Church – Saint-Agnan Church loop from Igé offer a longer distance of over 75 km and significant elevation gain, providing a rewarding ride through varied landscapes.

Where can I find parking for these no-traffic road cycling routes?

Many of the routes start from charming towns and villages such as Bellême or Sérigny, where public parking is generally available. It's advisable to check the specific starting point of your chosen route for the most convenient parking options.

When is the best time of year to enjoy no-traffic road cycling in Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne?

The spring and autumn months generally offer the most pleasant conditions for road cycling, with milder temperatures and beautiful scenery as the forests change colors. Summer can also be enjoyable, especially on routes that offer shade through the Bellême Forest.

Most popular routes around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Cycling around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Most popular attractions around Le Gué-De-La-Chaîne

Places to see

Store rating

Get inspired with the komoot mobile app

With a free komoot account, you can easily find, customize, and navigate endless outdoor adventures.

or

Join komoot Now

Store rating

Explore more

Browse the best Road cycling routes in other regions.

PercheBretoncellesCetonSaint-Germain-De-La-CoudreVitrai-Sous-LaigleSaint-Maurice-Lès-CharenceySaint-Germain-Des-GroisSablons-Sur-HuisneBeaulieuSoligny-La-TrappeTourouvre-Au-PercheL'Hôme-ChamondotMoutiers-Au-PercheIraiLa VentrouzeLes GenettesMoussonvilliersNormandelFeingsLa Madeleine-BouvetLe Pas-Saint-L'HomerLe MageLes AspresSaint-Germain-De-MartignyChampeaux-Sur-SartheLongny-Les-VillagesSaint-Ouen-De-SécherouvreCrulaiRémalard-En-PercheOrigny-Le-RouxSaint-Michel-TubœufComblotCourgeonLa MesnièreSaint-Sulpice-Sur-RisleSainte-Céronne-Lès-MortagneSérignySaint-Mard-De-RénoBazoches-Sur-HoëneChandaiDame-MarieMauves-Sur-HuisneSaint-Ouen-De-La-CourEperraisSaint-Hilaire-Le-ChâtelMontgaudryVaunoiseIgéLe Ménil-BérardParfondevalSuréSaint-Ouen-Sur-ItonLa Chapelle-VielSaint-Symphorien-Des-BruyèresBoëcéVerrièresSaint-Martin-D'ÉcubleiVal-Au-PercheChemilliLe Pin-La-GarenneSaint-Martin-Du-Vieux-BellêmeBellêmeL'AigleOrigny-Le-ButinPerche-En-NocéLa Chapelle-MontligeonBerd'HuisRaiSaint-Pierre-La-BruyèreVilliers-Sous-MortagneCour-Maugis-Sur-HuisneLa PerrièreSaint-Langis-Lès-MortagneSaint-Hilaire-Sur-ErreSaint-Julien-Sur-SartheRéveillonPervenchèresSaint-Fulgent-Des-OrmesBellavilliersSaint-Quentin-De-BlavouÉcorceiBellou-Le-TrichardSaint-Jouin-De-BlavouCourgeoûtLoisailBeaufaiLa Chapelle-SouëfCorbonSaint-Cyr-La-RosièrePouvraiCoulimerBonnefoiAppenai-Sous-BellêmeSaint-Denis-Sur-HuisneBizouSaint-Aquilin-De-CorbionVidaiBuréBarvilleSaint-Aubin-De-CourteraieBonsmoulinsAubeLes MenusMahéruSaint-Martin-Des-PézeritsFayAuguaiseSaint-Hilaire-Sur-RisleSaint-Pierre-Des-LogesLa Ferrière-Au-DoyenMoulins-La-MarcheBrethel

Nearby adventure guides

Things to Do around Vaunoise

background

Get ready to conquer new peaks

Sign up for Free

Explore
RoutesRoute plannerFeaturesRedeem a voucherHikesMTB TrailsRoad cycling routesBikepackingSitemap
Download the app
Follow Us on Socials

© komoot GmbH

Privacy Policy